

Legislation Text

File #: 15-0502, Version: 1

SEDGWICK COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE 2014 SILVER AWARD FROM AAA KANSAS. Presented by: Brenda Dietzman, Sedgwick County Undersheriff.

Presented by. Dienda Dietzman, Sedgwick County Undersite

RECOMMENDED ACTION: Accept the award.

The AAA Kansas Community Traffic Safety Awards Program is a statewide program for communities of all sizes. Its purpose is to encourage communities to address local traffic safety issues in a coordinated and cost-effective way.

AAA clubs provide applications to police and sheriff departments in Kansas, asking officials to describe the efforts of their traffic safety committee, participation in Kansas's highly successful seat belt usage program, SAFE, success of their traffic safety programs, projects and regulations and compilation of traffic statistics. Emphasis is placed on enforcement, education, and engineering programs, and awards are presented at several levels of achievement, depending on a variety of points for their work and population served.

Only 23 Kansas police departments and seven Kansas sheriff offices are receiving awards for their work in 2014.

The Sedgwick County Sheriff's Office is receiving the 2014 Silver Award.

Alternatives: N/A

Financial Considerations: N/A

Legal Considerations: N/A

Policy Considerations: N/A

Outside Attendees: Mr. Jim Hanni is in attendance from AAA Kansas.

Multimedia Presentation: N/A