

Sedgwick County

525 North Main Street 3rd Floor Wichita, KS 67203

Legislation Text

File #: 15-0357, Version: 1

RESOLUTION APPOINTING JOHN MCKAY (COMMISSIONER DAVE UNRUH'S APPOINTMENT) TO THE NEWLY RE-ESTABLISHED SEDGWICK COUNTY BOARD OF ZONING APPEALS.

Presented by: Michael Pepoon, Acting County Counselor.

RECOMMENDED ACTION: Adopt the Resolution.

Pursuant to K.S.A. 12-759 *et.seq.*, the Board of County Commission, as the Governing Body of Sedgwick County Kansas, established a single Board of Zoning Appeals April 1, 2015, Resolution No.062-2015, which shall consist of five (5) members, as may be appointed by each individual Commissioner. The Sedgwick County BZA shall begin operations effective July 1, 2015.

The state statute requires a staggered set of appointments as follows:

The appointee for the First Commission District shall initially serve a two (2) year term; The appointee for the Second Commission District shall initially serve a one (1) year term; The appointee for the Third Commission District shall initially serve a two (2) year term; The appointee for the Fourth Commission District shall initially serve a three (3) year term; and The appointee for the Fifth Commission District shall initially serve a three (3) year term.

Following the initial terms; all members shall serve a four (4) year term. Vacancies shall be filled by appointment to the unexpired term of the position. Members shall serve without compensation.

Financial Considerations: N/A

Legal Considerations: N/A

Policy Considerations: N/A

Outside Attendees: Mr. McKay will not be in attendance to have the Oath of Office administered.

Multimedia Presentation: N/A