Sedgwick County

525 North Main Street 3rd Floor Wichita, KS 67203



Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, May 17, 2017 9:00 AM

BOCC Meeting Room

Governing Body of Fire District 1

Pursuant to Resolution #007-2016, adopted by the Board of County Commissioners on January 20, 2016, members of the public are allowed to address the County Commission for a period of time limited to not more than five minutes or such time limits as may become necessary.

Anyone who requires an auxiliary aid or service for effective communication, or a modification of policies or procedures to participate in a program, service, or activity of Sedgwick County, should contact Crissy Magee, Sedgwick County ADA Coordinator, 510 N. Main, Suite 306, Wichita, Kansas 67203. Phone: 316-660-7056, TDD: Kansas Relay at 711 or 800-766-3777

Email:Crissy.Magee@sedgwick.gov, as soon as possible but no later than 48 hours before the scheduled event. Please include the name, location, date and time of the service or program, contact information and the type of aid, service, or policy modification needed.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

CALL MEETING TO ORDER

The Regular Meeting of the Board of the County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, was called to order at 10:20 a.m. on May 17, 2017 in the County Commission Meeting Room in the Courthouse in Wichita, Kansas, by Chairman David M. Unruh, with the following present: Chair Pro-Tem Commissioner Michael B. O'Donnell II; Commissioner David Dennis; Commissioner Richard Ranzau; Commissioner James M. Howell; Mr. Michael Scholes, County Manager; Mr. Thomas Stolz, Interim Deputy County Manager; Mr. Eric Yost, County Counselor; Mr. David Spears, Director, Bureau of Public Works; Mr. Dan Wegener, Fire Marshall, Sedgwick County Fire District; Mr. Joe Thomas, Director, Purchasing Department; Ms. Kate Flavin, Public Information Officer; Ms. Emilie Leivian, Deputy County Clerk.

ROLL CALL

The Clerk reported, after calling roll, that all Commissioners were present.

PUBLIC AGENDA

Chairman Unruh said, "I don't know if there's anyone who's asked to speak, so we'll ask for the next item."

CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES

A 17-453 REGULAR

REGULAR FIRE MEETING MINUTES OF APRIL 12, 2017. All Commissioners were present.

•

Chairman Unruh said, "Commissioners, you've had the opportunity to review the minutes of April 12th, are there any addition or corrections?"

MOTION

Commissioner O'Donnell moved to approve the minutes.

Commissioner Dennis seconded the motion.

There was no discussion on the motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Dennis Aye
Commissioner Ranzau Aye
Commissioner Howell Aye
Commissioner O'Donnell II Aye
Chairman Unruh Aye

Approved

NEW BUSINESS

B 17-458 CHARITABLE DONATION AGREEMENT WITH PAULINE M. WEBER

Sedgwick County Page 1

TRUST.

Presented by: Larry Tangney, Deputy Fire Chief, Sedgwick County Fire District 1.

Meeting Minutes

RECOMMENDED ACTION: Approve the agreement and authorize the Chairman to sign the agreement and the memorandum of agreement.

Mr. Dan Wegner, Fire Marshall, Sedgwick County Fire District, greeted the Commissioners and said, "We've received a donation of house out in western part of Sedgwick County from the Weber trust. The house is being donated to be used for training purposes. We've done this in the past. This affords our department an opportunity to get as close to the real thing in training and tune our guys up a little bit more.

"So, what'd I'd like to do is ask you to go ahead and sign the memorandum of agreement and the charitable donation from Mr. Weber. By the way, Mr. Weber is in the audience back here. He just wanted to see the process and what's going on. I don't think he really wanted to come up here and speak, but he is here to watch."

Chairman Unruh said, "Okay, well we're pleased that you took the time to be present with us to watch this process. We're also very pleased that you're willing to make this donation to our fire district. Have a comment from Commissioner O'Donnell."

Commissioner O'Donnell said, "No, Mr. Chair. I was just going to make the motion, whenever."

Chairman Unruh said, "Please."

Commissioner O'Donnell said, "Alright."

MOTION

Commissioner O'Donnell moved to approve the agreement and authorize the Chairman to sign the agreement and the memorandum of agreement.

Commissioner O'Donnell said, "Also, thank you to the Weber family."

Chairman Unruh said, "Very good. Is there a second?"

Commissioner Ranzau seconded the motion.

There was no discussion on the motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Dennis Aye
Commissioner Ranzau Aye
Commissioner Howell Aye
Commissioner O'Donnell II Aye
Chairman Unruh Aye

Chairman Unruh said, "Mr. Weber, we've thanked you a couple of times already, but we want you to know that this is valuable to our Fire District to have this training opportunity. So, if folks don't step up like that then we just, we don't have to find another way or we miss that opportunity. So, once again, we appreciate it. Thank you."

Sedgwick County Page 2

Mr. Weber said, "No problem."

Mr. Wegner said, "Thank you, Commissioners."

Chairman Unruh said, "Thank you, Chief. I see nothing else to come before the Fire District, I don't think."

Approved

ADJOURNMENT

There being no other business to come before the Board, the Meeting was adjourned at 10:23 a.m.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS

DAVID M. UNRUH, Chairman First District
MICHAEL B. O'DONNELL II, Chair Pro Tem Second District
DAVID T. DENNIS, Commissioner Third District
RICHARD RANZAU, Commissioner Fourth District

JAMES M. HOWELL, Commissioner Fifth District

ATTEST:

Kelly B. Arnold, County Clerk

APPROVED:

Sedgwick County Page 3