Sedgwick County

525 North Main Street 3rd Floor Wichita, KS 67203



Sedgwick County... working for you

Meeting Minutes

Friday, April 21, 2017

8:30 AM

SPECIAL MEETING

BOCC Meeting Room

Board of Sedgwick County Commissioners

Pursuant to Resolution #007-2016, adopted by the Board of County Commissioners on January 20, 2016, members of the public are allowed to address the County Commission for a period of time limited to not more than five minutes or such time limits as may become necessary.

Anyone who requires an auxiliary aid or service for effective communication, or a modification of policies or procedures to participate in a program, service, or activity of Sedgwick County, should contact the office of Crissy Magee, Sedgwick County ADA Coordinator, 510 N. Main, Suite 306, Wichita, Kansas 67203. Phone: 316-660-7056, TDD: Kansas Relay at 711 or 800-766-3777

Email:Crissy.Magee@sedgwick.gov, as soon as possible but no later than 48 hours before the scheduled event. Please include the name, location, date and time of the service or program, your contact information and the type of aid, service, or policy modification needed.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

CALL MEETING TO ORDER

MEETING OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

SPECIAL MEETING

April 21, 2017

The Special Meeting of the Board of the County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, was called to order at 8:35 a.m. on April 21, 2017 in the County Commission Meeting Room in the Courthouse in Wichita, Kansas, by Chairman David M. Unruh, with the following present: Chair Pro-Tem Commissioner Michael B. O'Donnell II; Commissioner David Dennis; Commissioner Richard Ranzau; Commissioner James M. Howell; Mr. Tim Kaufmann, Assistant County Manager, Public Services; Mr. Eric Yost, County Counselor; Ms. Kate Flavin, Public Information Officer; Ms. Heddie Page, Deputy County Clerk.

ROLL CALL

The Clerk reported, after calling roll, that all Commissioners were present.

Chairman Unruh said, "Next item."

EXECUTIVE SESSION

EXECUTIVE SESSION

MOTION

Commissioner O'Donnell moved that the Board of County Commissioners recess into Executive Session for 30 minutes to consider personnel matters of nonelected personnel and that the Board of County Commissioners return to this room from Executive Session no sooner than 9:06 a.m. The Executive Session is required to protect the privacy interests of an identifiable individual.

Commissioner Dennis seconded the motion.

There was no discussion on the motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Dennis	Aye
Commissioner Ranzau	Aye
Commissioner Howell	Aye
Commissioner O'Donnell II	Aye
Chairman Unruh	Ave

The Board of County Commissioners recessed at 8:36 a.m. and returned at 9:50 a.m.

ADJOURNMENT

Chairman Unruh said, "Okay, at this time I will call back to order the Special Meeting of the Board of County Commissioners, April 21st, and we are back from Executive Session and I will declare that while in Executive Session no binding action was taken. I don't think there is any more to come before the board. Mr. Manager?"

Mr. Tim Kaufman, Assistant County Manager, Public Services, said, "No, sir."

Chairman Unruh said, "Mr. Counselor?"

Mr. Eric Yost, County Counselor, said, "No."

Chairman Unruh said, "Commissioners? Then we are adjourned."

ADJOURNMENT

There being no other business to come before the Board, the meeting was adjourned at 9:50 a.m.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS

DAVID M. UNRUH, Chairman First District

MICHAEL B. O'DONNELL II, Chair Pro Tem Second District

DAVID T. DENNIS, Commissioner Third District

RICHARD RANZAU, Commissioner Fourth District

JAMES M. HOWELL, Commissioner Fifth District

ATTEST:

Kelly B. Arnold, County Clerk

APPROVED: