Sedgwick County

525 North Main Street 3rd Floor Wichita, KS 67203



Sedgwick County... working for you

Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

9:00 AM

BOCC Meeting Room

Governing Body of Fire District 1

Pursuant to Resolution #007-2016, adopted by the Board of County Commissioners on January 20, 2016, members of the public are allowed to address the County Commission for a period of time limited to not more than five minutes or such time limits as may become necessary.

Anyone who requires an auxiliary aid or service for effective communication, or a modification of policies or procedures to participate in a program, service, or activity of Sedgwick County, should contact Crissy Magee, Sedgwick County ADA Coordinator, 510 N. Main, Suite 306, Wichita, Kansas 67203. Phone: 316-660-7056, TDD: Kansas Relay at 711 or 800-766-3777

Email:Crissy.Magee@sedgwick.gov, as soon as possible but no later than 48 hours before the scheduled event. Please include the name, location, date and time of the service or program, contact information and the type of aid, service, or policy modification needed.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

The Regular Meeting of the Board of the County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, was called to order at 10:18 a.m. on February 15, 2017 in the County Commission Meeting Room in the Courthouse in Wichita, Kansas, by Chairman David M. Unruh, with the following present: Chair Pro-Tem Commissioner Michael B. O'Donnell; Commissioner David Dennis; Commissioner Richard Ranzau; Commissioner James M. Howell; Mr. Michael Scholes, County Manager; Mr. Thomas Golden, Deputy County Manager; Mr. Eric Yost, County Counselor; Mr. David Spears, Director, Bureau of Public Works; Mr. Joe Thomas, Director, Purchasing Department; Ms. Kate Flavin, Public Information Officer; Ms. Heddie Page, Deputy County Clerk.

GUESTS

CALL MEETING TO ORDER

ROLL CALL

The Clerk reported, after calling roll, that all Commissioners were present.

PUBLIC AGENDA

Chairman Unruh said, "I don't think I have notice of anyone wanting to speak. So next item, please."

CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES

A <u>17-158</u> REGULAR FIRE MEETING MINUTES OF DECEMBER 14, 2016. Commissioner Norton was absent.

Chairman Unruh said, "Commissioners, you have had the opportunity to review the minutes of December 14, 2016, and we also, well we may want to take this in more than one piece, what's the will of the board."

MOTION

Commissioner Howell moved to approve the minutes of December 14, 2016.

Chairman Unruh seconded the motion.

There was no discussion on the motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Dennis	Aye
Commissioner Ranzau	Aye
Commissioner Howell	Aye
Commissioner O'Donnell II	Aye
Chairman Unruh	Aye

Chairman Unruh said, "And the next two items, B and C."

B <u>17-170</u> REGULAR FIRE MEETING MINUTES OF DECEMBER 21, 2016. All Commissioners were present. *Action for this item was taken with Item C.*

C <u>17-203</u> REGULAR FIRE MEETING MINUTES OF JANUARY 18, 2017. All Commissioners were present.

MOTION

Commissioner Howell moved to approve minutes for December 21, 2016 and January 18, 2017.

Commissioner Unruh seconded the motion.

There was no discussion on the motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Dennis	Aye
Commissioner Ranzau	Aye
Commissioner Howell	Aye
Commissioner O'Donnell II	Aye
Chairman Unruh	Aye

Chairman Unruh said, "Next item."

CONSENT

Mr. Mike Scholes, County Manager, greeted the Commissioners and said, "I recommend you approve consent agenda item Delta."

Chairman Unruh said, "Commissioners, what is the will of the board?"

MOTION

Commissioner Unruh moved to approve consent agenda.

Commissioner Dennis seconded the motion.

There was no discussion on the motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner DennisAyeCommissioner RanzauAyeCommissioner HowellAyeCommissioner O'Donnell IIAyeChairman UnruhAyeAdopt the Consent Agenda

D <u>17-192</u> A Resolution designating the Chief Financial Officer and Deputy Chief Financial Officer to sign forms to confirm donations to the Fire District.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no other business to come before the Board, the Meeting was adjourned at 10:20 a.m.