# Sedgwick County

525 North Main Street 3rd Floor Wichita, KS 67203



Sedgwick County... working for you

# **Meeting Minutes**

Wednesday, January 18, 2017

9:00 AM

**BOCC Meeting Room** 

# **GOVERNING BODY OF FIRE DISTRICT #1**

Pursuant to Resolution #007-2016, adopted by the Board of County Commissioners on January 20, 2016, members of the public are allowed to address the County Commission for a period of time limited to not more than five minutes or such time limits as may become necessary.

Anyone who requires an auxiliary aid or service for effective communication, or a modification of policies or procedures to participate in a program, service, or activity of Sedgwick County, should contact Crissy Magee, Sedgwick County ADA Coordinator, 510 N. Main, Suite 306, Wichita, Kansas 67203. Phone: 316-660-7056, TDD: Kansas Relay at 711 or 800-766-3777

Email:Crissy.Magee@sedgwick.gov, as soon as possible but no later than 48 hours before the scheduled event. Please include the name, location, date and time of the service or program, contact information and the type of aid, service, or policy modification needed.

### **ORDER OF BUSINESS**

MEETING OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

SITTING AS THE GOVERNING BODY OF FIRE DISTRICT #1

January 18, 2017

The Regular Meeting of the Board of the County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, was called to order at 10:51 a.m. on January 18, 2017 in the County Commission Meeting Room in the Courthouse in Wichita, Kansas, by Chairman David Unruh, with the following present: Chair Pro-Tem Michael O'Donnell II; Commissioner David Dennis; Commissioner Richard Ranzau; Commissioner James M. Howell; Mr. Michael Scholes, County Manager; Mr. Eric Yost, County Counselor; Mr. David Spears, Bureau of Public Works; Mr. Thomas Golden, Deputy County Manager; Ms. Keturah Austin, Corporate Information Officer; Ms. Laura Billups, Deputy County Clerk.

## CALL MEETING TO ORDER

## ROLL CALL

The Clerk reported, after calling roll, that all Commissioners were present.

Roll Call

#### PUBLIC AGENDA

#### **CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES**

#### Adopted

A <u>17-118</u> REGULAR FIRE MEETING MINUTES OF NOVEMBER 2, 2016. All Commissioners were present.

MOTION

Commissioner Howell made a motion to adopt the regular fire meeting minutes for November 2, 2016.

Commissioner Ranzau second the motion.

There was no discussion and a vote was called

VOTE

| Commissioner Dennis    | Abstain |
|------------------------|---------|
| Commissioner Ranzau    | Aye     |
| Commissioner Howell    | Aye     |
| Commissioner O'Donnell | Abstain |
| Chairman Unruh         | Aye     |

Chairman Unruh said, "Next item."

# CONSENT

*Mr. Michael Scholes, County Manager, greeted the Commissioners and said, "Recommend you approve consent agenda items Bravo and Charlie."* 

Chairman Unruh said, "Commissioners, what's the will of the board?"

MOTION

Commissioner Ranzau made a motion to approve the consent agenda.

Commissioner Howell second the motion.

There was no discussion and a vote was called

VOTE

| Commissioner Dennis    | Aye |
|------------------------|-----|
| Commissioner Ranzau    | Aye |
| Commissioner Howell    | Aye |
| Commissioner O'Donnell | Aye |
| Chairman Unruh         | Aye |
| Approved               |     |

- B <u>17-136</u> A resolution directing Sedgwick County Fire District Number One to enter into an agreement for Fire protection Services with the City of Goddard, Kansas, pursuant to K.S.A. 19-3608.
- **C** <u>17-153</u> A resolution authorizing an amendment to the Sedgwick County Code related to the Agenda Policy for Fire District Number One.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no other business to come before the Board, the Meeting was adjourned at 10:53 a.m.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS DAVID M. UNRUH, Chairman First District

MICHAEL B. O'DONNELL II, Chair Pro Tem Second District

DAVID T. DENNIS, Commissioner Third District

RICHARD RANZAU, Commissioner Fourth District

JAMES M. HOWELL, Commissioner Fifth District

ATTEST:

Kelly B. Arnold, County Clerk

APPROVED:\_\_\_\_\_