Sedgwick County

525 North Main Street 3rd Floor Wichita, KS 67203



Sedgwick County... working for you

Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, November 2, 2016

9:00 AM

BOCC Meeting Room

GOVERNING BODY OF FIRE DISTRICT #1

Pursuant to Resolution #007-2016, adopted by the Board of County Commissioners on January 20, 2016, members of the public are allowed to address the County Commission for a period of time limited to not more than five minutes or such time limits as may become necessary.

Anyone who requires an auxiliary aid or service for effective communication, or a modification of policies or procedures to participate in a program, service, or activity of Sedgwick County, should contact Crissy Magee, Sedgwick County ADA Coordinator, 510 N. Main, Suite 306, Wichita, Kansas 67203. Phone: 316-660-7056, TDD: Kansas Relay at 711 or 800-766-3777

Email:Crissy.Magee@sedgwick.gov, as soon as possible but no later than 48 hours before the scheduled event. Please include the name, location, date and time of the service or program, contact information and the type of aid, service, or policy modification needed.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

MEETING OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS SITTING AS THE GOVERNING BODY OF FIRE DISTRICT #1

REGULAR MEETING

November 2, 2016

The Regular Meeting of the Board of the County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, was called to order at 10:20 a.m. on November 2, 2016 in the County Commission Meeting Room in the Courthouse in Wichita, Kansas, by Chairman James M. Howell, with the following present: Chair Pro-Tem Commissioner Richard Ranzau; Commissioner David Unruh; Commissioner Tim Norton; Commissioner Karl Peterjohn; Mr. Michael Scholes, County Manager; Mr. Eric Yost, County Counselor; Mr. David Spears, Director, Bureau of Public Works; Mr. Thomas Golden, Deputy County Manager; Ms. Kate Flavin, Public Information Officer; Ms. Laura Billups, Deputy County Clerk.

CALL MEETING TO ORDER

ROLL CALL

The Clerk reported, after calling roll, that all Commissioners were present. Roll Call

PUBLIC AGENDA

CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES

Adopted

A <u>16-668</u>

REGULAR FIRE MEETING MINUTES OF SEPTEMBER 28, 2016. All Commissioners were present.

MOTION

Commissioner Ranzau moved to approve the regular Fire Meeting minutes of September 28, 2016 and October 5th, 2016. Commissioner Unruh seconded the motion.

Chairman Howell said, "We have a motion and a second. Any discussion? Seeing none, Madam Clerk, please call the vote."

VOTE

Commissioner UnruhAyeCommissioner NortonAyeCommissioner PeterjohnAyeCommissioner RanzauAyeChairman HowellAye

Chairman Howell said, "Okay, moving right along. Next item, please."

 B
 16-678
 REGULAR FIRE MEETING MINUTES OF OCTOBER 5, 2016.

 All Commissioners were present.
 All Commissioners were present.

Item B was taken with Item A

CONSENT

Mr. Mike Scholes, Manager, greeted the Commissioners and said, "I recommend you approve

Consent Agenda items Charlie through Delta."

MOTION

Commissioner Ranzau moved to approve the Consent Agenda.

Commissioner Peterjohn seconded the motion.

Chairman Howell said, "We have a motion and a second. Any discussion? Seeing none, Madam Clerk, please call the vote."

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh		Aye
Commissioner Norton	Aye	
Commissioner Peterjohn	Aye	
Commissioner Ranzau		Aye
Chairman Howell	Aye	

Chairman Howell said, "Alright, good job. Thank you. We got through that agenda very quickly so, I'm now going to. Is there any final, any business before us before I adjourn this meeting? Alright, seeing none, I will now going to adjourn the meeting of Governing Body of Fire District No. 1." Approved

- C <u>16-686</u> A resolution directing Sedgwick County Fire District Number One to enter into an agreement for Fire Protection Services with the City of Garden Plain, Kansas pursuant to K.S.A. 19-3608.
- D <u>16-696</u> Resolution to authorize the destruction of Fire District #1 records (DISP 2016-269) 2010-2014.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no other business to come before the Board, the Meeting was adjourned at 10:22 a.m.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS

JAMES M. HOWELL, Chairman Fifth District

RICHARD RANZAU, Chair Pro Tem Fourth District

DAVID M. UNRUH, Commissioner First District

TIM R. NORTON, Commissioner Second District

KARL PETERJOHN, Commissioner Third District

ATTEST:

Kelly B. Arnold, County Clerk

APPROVED: _____