Sedgwick County

525 North Main Street 3rd Floor Wichita, KS 67203



Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, August 24, 2016 9:00 AM

BOCC Meeting Room

GOVERNING BODY OF FIRE DISTRICT #1

Pursuant to Resolution #007-2016, adopted by the Board of County Commissioners on January 20, 2016, members of the public are allowed to address the County Commission for a period of time limited to not more than five minutes or such time limits as may become necessary.

Anyone who requires an auxiliary aid or service for effective communication, or a modification of policies or procedures to participate in a program, service, or activity of Sedgwick County, should contact Crissy Magee, Sedgwick County ADA Coordinator, 510 N. Main, Suite 306, Wichita, Kansas 67203. Phone: 316-660-7056, TDD: Kansas Relay at 711 or 800-766-3777

Email:Crissy.Magee@sedgwick.gov, as soon as possible but no later than 48 hours before the scheduled event. Please include the name, location, date and time of the service or program, contact information and the type of aid, service, or policy modification needed.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

MEETING OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS SITTING AS THE GOVERNING BODY OF FIRE DISTRICT #1

REGULAR MEETING

August 24, 2016

The Regular Meeting of the Board of the County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, was called to order at 11:37 a.m., on Wednesday, August 24, 2016, in the County Commission Meeting Room in the Courthouse in Wichita, Kansas, by Chairman James M. Howell, with the following present: Chair Pro Tem Commissioner Richard Ranzau; Commissioner David Unruh; Commissioner Tim Norton; Commissioner Karl Peterjohn; Mr. Michael Scholes, County Manager; Mr. Eric Yost, County Counselor; Mr. David Spears, Director, Public Works; Ms. Kate Flavin, Public Information Officer; and Ms. Laura Billups, Deputy County Clerk and Ms. Heddie Page, Deputy County Clerk.

CALL MEETING TO ORDER

ROLL CALL

The Clerk reported, after calling roll, that all Commissioners were present.

PUBLIC AGENDA

NEW BUSINESS

A <u>16-521</u>

GOVERNMENT SERVICES AGREEMENTS FOR FIRE CODE INSPECTION AND ENFORCEMENT SERVICES WITH: THE CITY OF HAYSVILLE, CITY OF KECHI, AND CITY OF BEL AIRE, KANSAS.

Presented by: Justin M. Waggoner, Assistant County Counselor.

RECOMMENDED ACTION: Approve the resolutions and authorize the Chairman to sign the agreements.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Mr. Justin Waggoner, Assistant County Counselor, greeted the Commissioners and said, "I described all of these agreements in greater detail during the Board of County Commissioners meeting earlier this morning. The only slight tweak in this, is that there, by statute is required to be a resolution for each of these agreements to enter in to those. So, the recommended action is slightly different to actually to approve the resolutions and authorize the Chairman to sign each of the three agreements. Please let me know if you have any questions on this."

Chairman Howell said, "Alright, Commissioners is there any questions for Mr. Waggoner? I believe we have, I'll ask the public, is there anybody who would like to

Sedgwick County Page 1

speak to the agenda item? Alright, see none. Commissioner Peterjohn."

MOTION

Commissioner Peterjohn moved to approve the recommended actions and approve the resolutions authorizing the Chairman to sign the documents.

Commissioner Ranzau seconded the motion.

There was no discussion on the motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh Aye
Commissioner Norton Aye
Commissioner Peterjohn Aye
Commissioner Ranzau Aye
Chairman Howell Aye

Mr. Waggoner said, "Thank you."

Chairman Howell said, "Thank you. Mr. Waggoner. And with that, I don't see any other business before the Fire District. So I will now adjourn the meeting of the Governing Board for the [Sedgwick County] Fire District Number One."

Approved

ADJOURNMENT

There being no other business to come before the Board, the Meeting was adjourned at 10:39 a.m.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS

JAMES M. HOWELL, Chairman Fifth District

Sedgwick County Page 2

RICHARD RANZAU, Chair Pro Tem Fourth District
DAVID M. UNRUH, Commissioner First District
TIM R. NORTON, Commissioner Second District
KARL PETERJOHN, Commissioner Third District
ATTEST:
Kelly B. Arnold, County Clerk
APPROVED:

Sedgwick County Page 3