# **Sedgwick County**

525 North Main Street 3rd Floor Wichita, KS 67203



## **Meeting Minutes**

**9:00 AM** 

**BOCC Meeting Room** 

## **GOVERNING BODY OF FIRE DISTRICT #1**

Pursuant to Resolution #007-2016, adopted by the Board of County Commissioners on January 20, 2016, members of the public are allowed to address the County Commission for a period of time limited to not more than five minutes or such time limits as may become necessary.

Anyone who requires an auxiliary aid or service for effective communication, or a modification of policies or procedures to participate in a program, service, or activity of Sedgwick County, should contact Crissy Magee, Sedgwick County ADA Coordinator, 510 N. Main, Suite 306, Wichita, Kansas 67203. Phone: 316-660-7056, TDD: Kansas Relay at 711 or 800-766-3777

Email:Crissy.Magee@sedgwick.gov, as soon as possible but no later than 48 hours before the scheduled event. Please include the name, location, date and time of the service or program, contact information and the type of aid, service, or policy modification needed.

#### ORDER OF BUSINESS

MEETING OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS SITTING AS THE GOVERNING BODY OF FIRE DISTRICT #1

REGULAR MEETING

July 6, 2016

The Regular Meeting of the Board of the County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, was called to order at 12:08 p.m. on July 6, 2016 in the County Commission Meeting Room in the Courthouse in Wichita, Kansas, by Chairman James M. Howell, with the following present: Commissioner Richard Ranzau; Commissioner David Unruh; Commissioner Karl Peterjohn; Mr. Michael Scholes, County Manager; Mr. Eric Yost, County Counselor; Ms. Laura Billups, Deputy County Clerk and Ms. Erika Hills, Deputy County Clerk.

### **CALL MEETING TO ORDER**

#### **ROLL CALL**

The Clerk reported, after calling roll, that all Commissioners were present.

#### **PUBLIC AGENDA**

#### **CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES**

16-430 SPECIAL FIRE MEETING MINUTES OF JULY 29, 2015. Α All Commissioners were present.

16-431 SPECIAL FIRE MEETING MINUTES OF AUGUST 12, 2015. В

All Commissioners were present.

Commissioner Ranzau moved to make a motion to approve the minutes of the Fire Meeting July 29 and of August 12, 2015. Commissioner Unruh seconded the motion.

There was no discussion and the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh Ave Commissioner Norton Aye Commissioner Peterjohn Aye Commissioner Ranzau Aye Chairman Howell Aye

Commissioner Ranzau said, "Is that right? Should it be 2016?"

Sedgwick County Page 1 Ms. Laura Billups, Deputy County Clerk said, "It is 2015."

Chairman Howell said, "Actually, it is 2015."

Commissioner Norton said, "Old meetings that never got processed.

Chairman Howell said, "I read those minutes. There were some corrections made, there were some mistakes. So they got them all cleaned up and ready for adoption. We have a motion to adopt A and B and we have a second. Any discussion? Seeing none, Madam Clerk, call the vote."

#### VOTE

Commissioner Unruh Aye
Commissioner Norton Aye
Commissioner Peterjohn Aye
Commissioner Ranzau Aye

Chairman Howell Aye

Chairman Howell said, "Alright Madam Clerk, next item, please."

#### **DONATIONS**

#### C 16-422

ACCEPTANCE OF A DONATION FROM AIR PRODUCTS AND CHEMICALS.

Presented by: Larry Tangney, Deputy Fire Chief, Sedgwick County Fire District 1.

RECOMMENDED ACTION: Accept the donation of \$5,000.00 and authorize the Chairman to sign a letter of appreciation.

Deputy Chief Larry Tangney, Sedgwick County Fire District No. 1, greeted the Commissioners and said, "Again, Air Products and Chemicals located 6601 South Ridge Road, approximately three and a half miles west of Haysville has generously donated \$5,000 again to our R and D (Research and Development) fund for training and safety purposes. I would like to recommend you accept this donation and send a letter of appreciation to Air Products."

#### **MOTION**

Commissioner Norton moved to make a motion to accept the donation and send a letter of appreciation to Air Products.

Commissioner Peterjohn seconded the motion.

Chairman Howell said, "Thank you, Chief, for the presentation. It is awesome they continue to provide funding for this type of training. It is wonderful they do that."

Deputy Chief Tangney said, "Absolutely."

There was no discussion and the vote was called.

VOTE

Sedgwick County Page 2

Commissioner Unruh Aye

Commissioner Norton Aye
Commissioner Peterjohn Aye
Commissioner Ranzau Aye
Chairman Howell Aye

Chairman Howell said, "Alright. Madam Clerk, next item, please."

#### **Approved**

### **NEW BUSINESS**

#### **D** 16-417

ADD 20 PART-TIME FIREFIGHTER POSITIONS TO THE FIRE DISTRICT'S STAFFING TABLE.

Presented by: Dan Wegner, Fire Marshal, Sedgwick County Fire District 1.

RECOMMENDED ACTION: Authorize the addition of 20 part-time Firefighter positions to the Fire District staffing table, effective immediately.

#### **PUBLIC COMMENT**

Mr. Dan Wegner, Fire Marshal, greeted the Commissioners and said, "What we are asking at this time is to increase our staffing table to allow us 20 part-time positions for the Fire District. (No.1)"

Chairman Howell said, "Alright. Thank you, Chief. I would like to go to the public comment. I would like to open this up to the audience. Anybody in the audience who would like to speak on this agenda item? Okay. Seeing none, I will close public comment. What is the will of the Board?"

#### **MOTION**

Commissioner Ranzau moved to make a motion to authorize the addition of 20 part-time Fire Fighter position to the Fire District staffing table.

Commissioner Peterjohn seconded the motion

There was no discussion and the vote was called.

#### VOTE

Commissioner Unruh Ave

Commissioner Norton Aye
Commissioner Peterjohn Aye
Commissioner Ranzau Aye
Chairman Howell Aye

Chairman Howell said, "Alright. I don't think we have any other business in the Fire District Number 1. So I will therefore adjourn the meeting of the Governing Body of Fire District No. 1.

#### **Approved**

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

Sedgwick County Page 3

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

The Meeting for Sedgwick County Fire District Number one was adjourned at 12:12 p.m.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS

JAMES M. HOWELL, Chairman Fifth District

RICHARD RANZAU, Chair Pro Tem Fourth District

DAVID M. UNRUH, Commissioner First District

TIM R. NORTON, Commissioner Second District

KARL PETERJOHN, Commissioner Third District

ATTEST:

Kelly B. Arnold, County Clerk

APPROVED:

Sedgwick County Page 4