# **Sedgwick County**

525 North Main Street 3rd Floor Wichita, KS 67203



## **Meeting Minutes**

Wednesday, February 17, 2016 9:00 AM

**BOCC Meeting Room** 

## **GOVERNING BODY OF FIRE DISTRICT #1**

Pursuant to Resolution #131-2010, adopted by the Board of County Commissioners on August 11, 2010, members of the public are allowed to address the County Commission for a period of time limited to not more than five minutes.

Anyone who requires an auxiliary aid or service for effective communication, or a modification of policies or procedures to participate in a program, service, or activity of Sedgwick County, should contact the office of Crissy Magee, Sedgwick County ADA Coordinator, 510 N. Main, Suite 306, Wichita, Kansas

Phone: (316) 660-7056, TDD: Kansas Relay at 711 or 800-766-3777

Email: Crissy.Magee@sedgwick.gov, as soon as possible but no later than 48 hours before the scheduled event. Please include the name, location, date and time of the service or program, your contact information and the type of aid, service, or policy modification needed.

#### **ORDER OF BUSINESS**

#### **CALL MEETING TO ORDER**

The Regular Meeting of the Board of the County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, was called to order at 9:02 a.m. on February 17, 2016 in the County Commission Meeting Room in the Courthouse in Wichita, Kansas, by Chairman James M. Howell, with the following present: Chair Pro-Tem Commissioner Richard Ranzau; Commissioner David Unruh; Commissioner Tim Norton; Commissioner Karl Peterjohn; Mr. Michael Scholes, County Manager; Mr. Eric Yost, County Counselor; Mr. David Spears, Director, Bureau of Public Works; Mr. Karen S. Bailey, Chief Deputy County Clerk; Mr. Dale Miller, Director, Planning Staff; Mr. Thomas Stolz, Metropolitan Area Building and Construction Department; Mr. Joe Thomas, Director, Purchasing Department; Mr. Chris Chronis, Chief Financial Officer; Mr. Justin Waggoner, Assistant County Counselor; Mr. Dan Wegner, Sedgwick County Fire Marshal; Mr. Mike Borchard, County Appraiser; Mr. Daniel Schrant, Engineer, Public Works; Ms. Jill Tinsley, Communications; Ms. Laura Billups, Deputy County Clerk and Ms. Erika Rice, Deputy County Clerk.

#### **ROLL CALL**

The Clerk reported, after calling roll, that Commissioner Norton was absent.

**Roll Call** 

#### **CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES**

#### **Approved**

#### **A** 15-0866

REGULAR FIRE MEETING MEETING MINUTES OF DECEMBER 2, 2015.

All Commissioners were present.

Chairman Howell said, "Commissioners, what's the will of the Board?"

MOTION

Commissioner Unruh moved to approve the Regular Fire Meeting Minutes of December 2, 2015.

Commissioner Ranzau seconded the motion.

Chairman Howell said, "We have a motion and a second. Please call the vote."

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh Aye
Commissioner Norton Absent
Commissioner Peterjohn Aye
Commissioner Ranzau Aye
Chairman Howell Aye

Chairman Howell said, "Next item, please."

Sedgwick County Page 1

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

## **CONSENT**

#### Approved on the Consent Agenda

### **B** <u>16-0051</u>

Resolution Amending the Governing Body of Fire District 1 Meeting Agenda Policy.

Mr. Mike Scholes, County Manager, greeted the Commissioners and said, "I recommend you approve the Consent Agenda Item B."

**MOTION** 

Chairman Howell moved to approve the Consent Agenda.

Commissioner Peterjohn seconded the motion.

Chairman Howell said, "We have a motion and a second. Seeing no discussion, Madam Clerk, please call the vote."

Chairman Howell said, "That concludes the business for Fire District No. 1. I will adjourn this meeting."

### **ADJOURNMENT**

Seeing no further business to come before the Board, the Fire District No. 1 meeting was adjourned at 11:04 a.m.

Sedgwick County Page 2

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS
JAMES M. HOWELL, Chairman Fifth District
RICHARD RANZAU, Chair Pro Tem Fourth District
DAVID M. UNRUH, Commissioner First District
TIM R. NORTON, Commissioner Second District
KARL PETERJOHN, Commissioner Third District
ATTEST:
Kelly B. Arnold, County Clerk
APPROVED:

Sedgwick County Page 3