Sedgwick County

525 North Main Street 3rd Floor Wichita, KS 67203



Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, December 2, 2015 9:00 AM

BOCC Meeting Room

GOVERNING BODY OF FIRE DISTRICT #1

Pursuant to Resolution #131-2010, adopted by the Board of County Commissioners on August 11, 2010, members of the public are allowed to address the County Commission for a period of time limited to not more than five minutes.

Anyone who requires an auxiliary aid or service for effective communication, or a modification of policies or procedures to participate in a program, service, or activity of Sedgwick County, should contact the office of Roberta Berry, Sedgwick County Interim ADA Coordinator, 510 N. Main, Suite 306, Wichita, Kansas

Phone: (316) 660-7058, TDD: Kansas Relay at 711 or 800-766-3777

Email:rberry@sedgwick.gov, as soon as possible but no later than 48 hours before the scheduled event. Please include the name, location, date and time of the service or program, your contact information and the type of aid, service, or policy modification needed.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

CALL MEETING TO ORDER

The Regular Meeting of the Board of the County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, was called to order at 10:15 a.m. on December 2, 2015 in the County Commission Meeting Room in the Courthouse in Wichita, Kansas, by Chairman Richard Ranzau, with the following present: Chair Pro-Tem Commissioner Karl Peterjohn; Commissioner David M. Unruh; Commissioner James M. Howell; Mr. Michael (Mike) Scholes, County Manager; Mr. Ron Holt, Assistant County Manager; Mr. Eric Yost, County Counselor; Mr. David Spears, Director, Bureau of Public Works; Mr. Gregory Harlan, Fire Division Chief, Fire District No. 1; Mr. Justin Waggoner, Assistant County Counselor; Ms. Kristi Zukovich, Director, Communications; and Ms. Erika Rice, Deputy County Clerk.

ROLL CALL

The Clerk reported, after calling roll, that all Commissioners were present.

CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES

A 15-0752 REGULAR FIRE DISTRICT NO. 1 MEETING MINUTES OF OCTOBER

14, 2015. All Commissioners were present.

Chairman Ranzau said, "Commissioners, what's the will of the Board?"

MOTION

Commissioner Unruh moved to approve the minutes of the Fire District No. 1 Meeting on October 14, 2015.

Ave

Commissioner Peterjohn seconded the motion.

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh Aye
Commissioner Norton Aye
Commissioner Howell Aye

Commissioner Peterjohn Aye

Chairman Ranzau

Chairman Ranzau said, "Next item, please."

CONSENT

B 15-0746 Resolution amending the agenda policy for Fire District No. 1.

C 15-0777 Revise Sedgwick County Fire District Number One Personnel Policies.

Sedgwick County Page 1

Mr. Mike Scholes, County Manager, greeted the Commissioners and said, "I recommend you approve Items B through C."

MOTION

Commissioner Unruh moved to adopt the Consent Agenda.

Commissioner Norton seconded the motion.

Chairman Ranzau said, "Commissioner Peterjohn."

Commissioner Peterjohn said, "Just a quick comment. This will also include Item C as the same personnel policy issue that we just had discussions on, but obviously for the Fire District, it's basically these are all the personnel policies that were similar to the ones we had in the regular meeting, and I plan to be supportive this motion."

Chairman Ranzau said, "Call the vote, please."

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh Aye Commissioner Norton Ave

Commissioner Howell Aye

Commissioner Peterjohn Aye

Chairman Ranzau Aye

Chairman Ranzau said, "Mr. Manager, is there anything else to come before the Fire District?"

Mr. Scholes said "No, Mr. Chairman. That's it."

Chairman Ranzau said, "Any other business to come before the governing body for the Fire District? Seeing none, we will adjourn the meeting for governing body for the Fire District No. 1."

ADJOURNMENT

There being no other business to come before the Board, the Meeting was adjourned at 10:17 a.m.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS

RICHARD RANZAU, Chairman Fourth District

Sedgwick County Page 2 KARL PETERJOHN, Chair Pro Tem
Third District

DAVID M. UNRUH, Commissioner
First District

TIM R. NORTON, Commissioner
Second District

JAMES M. HOWELL, Commissioner
Fifth District

ATTEST:

Kelly B. Arnold, County Clerk

APPROVED:

Sedgwick County Page 3