Sedgwick County

525 North Main Street 3rd Floor Wichita, KS 67203



Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, October 14, 2015 9:00 AM

BOCC Meeting Room

GOVERNING BODY OF FIRE DISTRICT #1

Pursuant to Resolution #131-2010, adopted by the Board of County Commissioners on August 11, 2010, members of the public are allowed to address the County Commission for a period of time limited to not more than five minutes.

Anyone who requires an auxiliary aid or service for effective communication, or a modification of policies or procedures to participate in a program, service, or activity of Sedgwick County, should contact the office of Roberta Berry, Sedgwick County Interim ADA Coordinator, 510 N. Main, Suite 306, Wichita, Kansas

Phone: (316) 660-7058, TDD: Kansas Relay at 711 or 800-766-3777

Email:rberry@sedgwick.gov, as soon as possible but no later than 48 hours before the scheduled event. Please include the name, location, date and time of the service or program, your contact information and the type of aid, service, or policy modification needed.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

CALL MEETING TO ORDER

The Regular Meeting of the Board of the County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, was called to order at 10:02 a.m., on Wednesday, October 14, 2015, in the County Commission Meeting Room in the Courthouse in Wichita, Kansas, by Chairman Richard Ranzau, with the following present: Chair Pro Tem Commissioner Karl Peterjohn; Commissioner David M. Unruh; Commissioner Tim R. Norton; Commissioner James M. Howell; Mr. Ron Holt, Acting County Manager; Mr. Eric Yost, County Counselor; Mr. David Spears, Director, Bureau of Public Works; Ms. Eileen McNichol, Director, Human Resources; Ms. Kristi Zukovich, Director, Communications; and Ms. Jill Bailey, Deputy County Clerk.

ROLL CALL

15-0664

The Clerk reported, after calling roll, that all Commissioners were present.

CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES

REGULAR FIRE MEETING MINUTES OF SEPTEMBER 16, 2015. Commissioner Norton was absent.

Chairman Ranzau said, "Commissioners, what is the will of the Board?"

MOTION

Commissioner Peterjohn moved to approve the Regular Fire Meeting Minutes of September 16, 2015.

Commissioner Unruh seconded the motion.

There was no discussion on the motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh Aye
Commissioner Norton Abstain
Commissioner Howell Aye
Commissioner Peterjohn Aye
Chairman Ranzau Aye

Chairman Ranzau said, "Next item, please."

NEW BUSINESS

B 15-0677 ESTABLISH 2016 FIRE DISTRICT NUMBER ONE HOLIDAYS.

Presented by: Eileen McNichol, Director, Human Resources.

RECOMMENDED ACTION: Adopt the Resolution.

Sedgwick County Page 1

Ms. Eileen McNichol, Director, Human Resources, greeted the Commissioners and said, "You have before you today a resolution establishing the holidays to be observed by the Governing Body of Fire District No. 1 for 2016. Sedgwick County will observe ten holidays in 2016, and this set of holidays matches the set to be observed by the [18th Judicial] District Court, with the exception that they observe Columbus Day as a holiday, and we use that day for in-service training.

The 2016 holidays are: New Year's Day, which is Friday, January 1, 2016; Martin Luther King Day, Monday, January 18th, 2016; President's Day is Monday, February 15th, 2016; Memorial Day is Monday, May 30th, 2016; Independence Day is Monday, July 4th, 2016; Labor Day is Monday, September 5th, 2016; Veterans Day is Friday, November 11th, 2016; and Thanksgiving Day is both Thursday and Friday, November 24th and 25th of 2016. And we end the year with Christmas Day on Monday, December 26th, 2016. If you have no questions, I would recommend that you approve this resolution."

Chairman Ranzau said, "Commissioners, what is the will of the Board?"

MOTION

Commissioner Howell moved to adopt the resolution.

Commissioner Peterjohn seconded the motion.

There was no discussion on the motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh Aye
Commissioner Norton Aye
Commissioner Howell Aye
Commissioner Peterjohn Aye
Chairman Ranzau Aye

Chairman Ranzau said, "Mr. Manager is there anything else to come before the Fire District [No. 1]?"

Mr. Holt said, "No, sir."

Chairman Ranzau said, "Seeing none, we will adjourn the meeting of the Governing Body of Fire District No. 1."

ADJOURNMENT

There being no other business to come before the Board, the Meeting was adjourned at 10:05 a.m.

Sedgwick County Page 2

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS

RICHARD RANZAU, Chairman Fourth District

KARL PETERJOHN, Chair Pro Tem Third District

DAVID M. UNRUH, Commissioner First District

TIM R. NORTON, Commissioner Second District

JAMES M. HOWELL, Commissioner Fifth District

Kelly B. Arnold, County Clerk

Sedgwick County Page 3

APPROVED: