Sedgwick County

525 North Main Street 3rd Floor Wichita, KS 67203



Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, September 16, 2015 9:00 AM

BOCC Meeting Room

GOVERNING BODY OF FIRE DISTRICT #1

Pursuant to Resolution #131-2010, adopted by the Board of County Commissioners on August 11, 2010, members of the public are allowed to address the County Commission for a period of time limited to not more than five minutes.

Anyone who requires an auxiliary aid or service for effective communication, or a modification of policies or procedures to participate in a program, service, or activity of Sedgwick County, should contact the office of Roberta Berry, Sedgwick County Interim ADA Coordinator, 510 N. Main, Suite 306, Wichita, Kansas

Phone: (316) 660-7058, TDD: Kansas Relay at 711 or 800-766-3777

Email:rberry@sedgwick.gov, as soon as possible but no later than 48 hours before the scheduled event. Please include the name, location, date and time of the service or program, your contact information and the type of aid, service, or policy modification needed.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

CALL MEETING TO ORDER

The Regular Meeting of the Board of the County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, was called to order at 9:45 a.m. on September 16, 2015 in the County Commission Meeting Room in the Courthouse in Wichita, Kansas, by Chairman Richard Ranzau, with the following present: Chair Pro Tem Commissioner Karl Peterjohn; Commissioner David M. Unruh; Commissioner James M. Howell; Mr. Ron Holt, Acting County Manager; Mr. Eric Yost, County Counselor; Mr. Michael Pepoon, Assistant County Counselor; Mr. Jim Weber, Bureau of Public Works; Ms. Karen Bailey, Chief Deputy County Clerk; Mr. Dan Wegner, Fire Marshal; Ms. Kristi Zukovich, Director, Communications; and Ms. Erika Rice, Deputy County Clerk.

ROLL CALL

The Clerk reported, after calling roll, Commissioner Norton was absent.

CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES

A 15-0546 REGULAR FIRE MEETING MINUTES OF JUNE 10, 2015.

Commissioner Unruh was absent.

Chairman Ranzau said, "Commissioner Peterjohn"

MOTION

Commissioner Peterjohn moved to approve the Regular Fire Meeting Minutes of June 10, 2015.

Commissioner Howell seconded the motion.

There was no discussion on the motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh Abstain
Commissioner Norton Absent
Commissioner Howell Aye
Commissioner Peterjohn Aye
Chairman Ranzau Aye

Chairman Ranzau said, "Next item, please."

B 15-0581 REGULAR FIRE MEETING MINUTES OF JULY 22, 2015.

All Commissioners were present.

Chairman Ranzau said, "Commissioner Peterjohn."

Commissioner Peterjohn said, "I move we approve both Item B and C."

Sedgwick County Page 1

MOTION

Commissioner Peterjohn moved to approve the Regular Fire Meeting Minutes of July 22, 2015 and the Special Fire Meeting Minutes of August 6, 2015.

Commissioner Unruh seconded the motion.

There was no discussion on the motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh Aye
Commissioner Norton Absent
Commissioner Howell Aye
Commissioner Peterjohn Aye
Chairman Ranzau Aye

Chairman Ranzau said, "Next item."

C 15-0587 SPECIAL FIRE MEETING MINUTES OF AUGUST 6, 2015.

All Commissioners were present.

Action for Item C was taken with Item B.

NEW BUSINESS

D <u>15-0610</u> ACCEPTANCE OF A DONATION FROM AIR PRODUCTS AND CHEMICALS.

Presented by: Larry Tangney, Deputy Fire Chief.

RECOMMENDED ACTION: Accept the donation of \$1,000.00 and authorize the Chairman to sign a letter of appreciation.

Mr. Dan Wegner, Fire Marshal, greeted the Commissioners and said, "We received \$1,000 donation from Air Products Corporation, and this is in continued support of Air Products. They have been great supporters of the Fire District, and our training endeavors, and it would be my recommendation that we accept the thousand dollar donation and send a letter of appreciation to Air Products."

MOTION

Commissioner Peterjohn moved to accept the \$1,000 donation from Air Products and Chemicals and authorize the Chairman to send a letter of appreciation.

Commissioner Howell seconded the motion.

There was no discussion on the motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh Aye
Commissioner Norton Absent

Sedgwick County Page 2

Commissioner Howell Aye
Commissioner Peterjohn Aye
Chairman Ranzau Aye

Chairman Ranzau said, "Thank you very much. And we are certainly very grateful for the contribution by Air Products and Chemicals. They have done this repeatedly in the past, and they continue to for the Fire District. It is greatly appreciated."

Mr. Wagner said, "We definitely appreciate them. Thank you, gentlemen."

Chairman Ranzau said, "Mr. Manager, anything else to come before the Fire District?"

Mr. Holt, said "No, sir."

Chairman Ranzau said, "Seeing none, we will adjourn." Approved

ADJOURNMENT

There being no other business to come before the Board, the Meeting was adjourned at 9:47 a.m.

RICHARD RANZAU, Chairman
Fourth District

KARL PETERJOHN, Chair Pro Tem
Third District

DAVID M. UNRUH, Commissioner
First District

TIM R. NORTON, Commissioner
Second District

JAMES M. HOWELL, Commissioner
Fifth District

ATTEST:

Kelly B. Arnold, County Clerk
APPROVED:

Sedgwick County Page 4