# **Sedgwick County**

525 North Main Street 3rd Floor Wichita, KS 67203



Sedgwick County... working for you

### **Meeting Minutes**

Wednesday, July 22, 2015

9:00 AM

**BOCC Meeting Room** 

# **GOVERNING BODY OF FIRE DISTRICT #1**

Pursuant to Resolution #131-2010, adopted by the Board of County Commissioners on August 11, 2010, members of the public are allowed to address the County Commission for a period of time limited to not more than five minutes. Anyone who requires an auxiliary aid or service for effective communication, or a modification of policies or procedures to participate in a program, service, or activity of Sedgwick County, should contact the office of Roberta Berry, Sedgwick County Interim ADA Coordinator, 510 N. Main, Suite 306, Wichita, Kansas 67203

Phone: (316) 660-7058, TDD: Kansas Relay at 711 or 800-766-3777 Email:rberry@sedgwick.gov, as soon as possible but no later than 48 hours before the scheduled event. Please include the name, location, date and time of the service or program, your contact information and the type of aid, service, or policy modification needed.

#### **ORDER OF BUSINESS**

#### **CALL MEETING TO ORDER**

The Regular Meeting of the Board of the County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, was called to order at 11:12 a.m., on Wednesday, July 22, 2015, in the County Commission Meeting Room in the Courthouse in Wichita, Kansas, by Chairman Richard Ranzau, with the following present: Chair Pro Tem Commissioner Karl Peterjohn; Commissioner David M. Unruh; Commissioner Tim R. Norton; Commissioner James M. Howell; Mr. Ron Holt, Acting County Manager; Mr. Mike Pepoon, Acting County Counselor; Mr. David Spears, Director, Bureau of Public Works; Ms. Lindsay Poe Rousseau, Budget Director; Ms. Kristi Zukovich, Director, Communications; and Ms. Erika Rice, Deputy County Clerk.

### ROLL CALL

The Clerk reported, after calling roll, that all Commissioners were present.

#### **CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES**

A <u>15-0479</u> REGULAR FIRE MEETING MINUTES OF MAY 20, 2015. All Commissioners were present.

Chairman Ranzau said, "Commissioners are there any additions or corrections? Seeing none, what is the will of the Board?"

#### MOTION

Commissioner Peterjohn moved to approve the Meeting Minutes of May 20, 2015.

Chairman Ranzau seconded the motion.

There was no discussion on the motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh	Aye
Commissioner Norton	Aye
Commissioner Howell	Aye
Commissioner Peterjohn	Aye
Chairman Ranzau	Aye

Chairman Ranzau said, "Next item, please."

#### NEW BUSINESS

B15-0497AUTHORIZE THE PUBLICATION OF THE MAXIMUM PROPERTY TAX<br/>LEVY TO FUND THE 2016 FIRE DISTRICT 1 BUDGET AND<br/>ESTABLISH PUBLIC BUDGET HEARINGS ON JULY 29 AND AUGUST

#### 6, 2015.

Presented by: Lindsay Poe Rousseau, Budget Director.

RECOMMENDED ACTION: Authorize the publication of the maximum property tax levy to fund the 2016 budget and notice of the public budget hearing on August 6, 2015.

Ms. Lindsay Poe Rousseau, Budget Director, greeted the Commissioners and said, "This item is identical in purpose to the item you previously adopted for the Sedgwick County budget. This publication sets the maximum budget for the Fire District [No. 1] at \$18,155,963.00, and establishes a maximum property tax levy of \$15,246,367.00, based on the intent of maintaining the same property tax rate as the current year of 18.367 mills. In addition to a public hearing to be held on Wednesday, July 29th, at 9:00 a.m., here in this room, the publication outlines that the second public budget hearing will be held also in this room on Thursday, August 6th at 6:00 p.m. Budget adoption is scheduled for August 12th, and like the county certified budget this is due to the Clerk on August 25th. I would be happy to stand for any questions, if there are none recommend you authorize the publication."

Chairman Ranzau said, "Commissioners, what is the will of the Board?"

MOTION

Commissioner Howell moved to authorize the publication.

Commissioner Unruh seconded the motion.

There was no discussion on the motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh	Aye
Commissioner Norton	Aye
Commissioner Howell	Aye
Commissioner Peterjohn	Aye
Chairman Ranzau	Aye

Ms. Poe-Rousseau said, "Thank you."

Chairman Ranzau said, "Mr. Manager, is there any other business to come before the Fire District?"

Mr. Ron Holt, Acting County Manager, greeted the Commissioners and said, "No sir."

Chairman Ranzau said, "Seeing none, we are adjourned."

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no other business to come before the Board, the Meeting was adjourned at 11:16 a.m.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS

RICHARD RANZAU, Chairman Fourth District

KARL PETERJOHN, Chair Pro Tem Third District

DAVID M. UNRUH, Commissioner First District

TIM R. NORTON, Commissioner Second District

JAMES M. HOWELL, Commissioner Fifth District

ATTEST:

Kelly B. Arnold, County Clerk

APPROVED: