Sedgwick County

525 North Main Street 3rd Floor Wichita, KS 67203



Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, May 20, 2015 9:00 AM

BOCC Meeting Room

GOVERNING BODY OF FIRE DISTRICT #1

Pursuant to Resolution #131-2010, adopted by the Board of County Commissioners on August 11, 2010, members of the public are allowed to address the County Commission for a period of time limited to not more than five minutes.

Anyone who requires an auxiliary aid or service for effective communication, or a modification of policies or procedures to participate in a program, service, or activity of Sedgwick County, should contact the office of Roberta Berry, Sedgwick County Interim ADA Coordinator, 510 N. Main, Suite 306, Wichita, Kansas

Phone: (316) 660-7058, TDD: Kansas Relay at 711 or 800-766-3777

Email:rberry@sedgwick.gov, as soon as possible but no later than 48 hours before the scheduled event. Please include the name, location, date and time of the service or program, your contact information and the type of aid, service, or policy modification needed.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

CALL MEETING TO ORDER

The Regular Meeting of the Board of the County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, was called to order at 11:11 a.m., on Wednesday, May 20th, 2015, in the County Commission Meeting Room in the Courthouse in Wichita, Kansas, by Chairman Richard Ranzau, with the following present: Chair Pro Tem Commissioner Karl Peterjohn; Commissioner David M. Unruh; Commissioner Tim R. Norton; Commissioner James M. Howell; William P. Buchanan, County Manager; Mr. Mike Pepoon, Acting County Counselor; David Spears, Director, Bureau of Public Works; Mr. Larry Tangney, Deputy Chief, Fire District No. 1; Ms. Kristi Zukovich, Director, Communications; and Ms. Kim-Anh Do, Deputy County Clerk.

ROLL CALL

The Clerk reported, after calling roll, that all Commissioners were present.

CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES

A 15-0214 REGULAR FIRE MEETING MINUTES OF FEBRUARY 4, 2015.

All Commissioners were present.

Chairman Ranzau said, "What is the will of the Board?"

MOTION

Commissioner Peterjohn moved to combine Item A, Item B, and Item C, and approve the Fire Meeting Minutes for February 4th, February 18th, and March 4th, 2015.

Commissioner Howell seconded the motion.

There was no discussion on the motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh Aye
Commissioner Norton Aye
Commissioner Howell Aye
Commissioner Peterjohn Aye
Chairman Ranzau Aye

Chairman Ranzau said, "Next item, please."

Approved

B 15-0355 REGULAR FIRE MEETING MINUTES OF FEBRUARY 18, 2015.

All Commissioners were present.

Action on Item B was taken with Item A.

Sedgwick County Page 1

15-0266 C

REGULAR FIRE MEETING MINUTES OF MARCH 4, 2015.

All Commissioners were present.

Action on Item C was taken with Item A.

DONATIONS

D 15-0338 ACCEPTANCE OF A DONATION FROM AIR PRODUCTS AND CHEMICALS.

Presented by: Larry Tangney, Deputy Fire Chief, Sedgwick County Fire District 1.

RECOMMENDED ACTION: Accept the donation of \$5,000.00 and authorize the Chairman to sign a letter of appreciation.

Chief Larry Tangney, Chief Deputy, County Fire Department, greeted the Commissioners and said, "The Fire District received a \$5,000 donation from Air Products and Chemicals located at 6601 South Ridge Road. This is a continuation of their advocacy for the fire district and public safety in our region, and we would like to recommend that you receive this donation."

MOTION

Commissioner Peterjohn moved to accept the donation.

Chairman Ranzau seconded the motion.

There was no discussion on the motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh Aye Commissioner Norton Aye Commissioner Howell Aye Commissioner Peterjohn Ave Chairman Ranzau Aye

Chairman Ranzau said, "Anything else to come before the Fire District? Seeing none, we are adjourned."

Approved

ADJOURNMENT

There being no other business to come before the Board, the Meeting was adjourned at 11:13 a.m.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONE SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS	RS OF
RICHARD RANZAU, Chairman Fourth District	
KARL PETERJOHN, Chair Pro Tem Third District	
DAVID M. UNRUH, Commissioner First District	
TIM R. NORTON, Commissioner Second District	
JAMES M. HOWELL, Commissioner Fifth District	
ATTEST:	
Kelly B. Arnold, County Clerk	
APPROVED:	

Sedgwick County Page 3