Sedgwick County

525 North Main Street 3rd Floor Wichita, KS 67203



Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, February 4, 2015 9:00 AM

BOCC Meeting Room

GOVERNING BODY OF FIRE DISTRICT #1

Pursuant to Resolution #131-2010, adopted by the Board of County Commissioners on August 11, 2010, members of the public are allowed to address the County Commission for a period of time limited to not more than five minutes.

Anyone who requires an auxiliary aid or service for effective communication, or a modification of policies or procedures to participate in a program, service, or activity of Sedgwick County, should contact the office of Roberta Berry, Sedgwick County Interim ADA Coordinator, 510 N. Main, Suite 306, Wichita, Kansas

Phone: (316) 660-7058, TDD: Kansas Relay at 711 or 800-766-3777

Email:rberry@sedgwick.gov, as soon as possible but no later than 48 hours before the scheduled event. Please include the name, location, date and time of the service or program, your contact information and the type of aid, service, or policy modification needed.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

CALL MEETING TO ORDER

The Regular Meeting of the Board of the County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, was called to order at 11:25 a.m., on Wednesday, February 4TH, 2015, in the County Commission Meeting Room in the Courthouse in Wichita, Kansas, by Chairman Richard Ranzau, with the following present: Chair Pro Tem Commissioner Karl Peterjohn; Commissioner David M. Unruh; Commissioner Tim R. Norton; Commissioner James M. Howell; Mr. William P. Buchanan, County Manager; Mr. Rich Euson, County Counselor; Mr. David Spears, Director, Bureau of Public Works; Mr. Chris Chronis, Chief Financial Officer; Ms. Kristi Zukovich, Director, Communications; and Ms. Angela Lovelace, Deputy County Clerk.

ROLL CALL

The clerk reported, after calling roll, that all Commissioners were present.

NEW BUSINESS

A <u>15-0043</u>

APPROVE THE EXECUTION BY THE CHAIRMAN OF A CONTRACT FOR FIRE PROTECTION WITH AERO-TECH ENGINEERING. Presented by: William P. Buchanan, County Manager.

RECOMMENDED ACTION: Authorize the Chairman to sign the contract for fire protection.

Mr. William Buchanan, County Manager, greeted the Commissioners and said, "The description tells us all we need to know. They want fire protection and they are willing to pay for it. And we are willing to provide it."

Chairman Ranzau said, "Okay. Commissioners, do you have any questions, comments on the motion? Commissioner Peterjohn."

MOTION

Commissioner Peterjohn moved the motion to authorize the Chairman to sign the contract.

Commissioner Howell seconded the motion

Commissioner Peterjohn said, "Can I just ask a question?"

Chairman Ranzau said, "Yes."

Commissioner Peterjohn said, "The question I would like to ask is, in this agreement that we have, is this just tied specifically to the duration of the IRB's (Industrial Revenue Bonds), or is it extended beyond the time frame of the agreements, I think

Sedgwick County Page 1

this is tied to the industrial revenue bonds arrangement that the City of Maize has with the company in question."

Mr. Buchanan said, "I know the agreement begins with the issue of the IRB's."

Mr. Chris Chronis, Chief Financial Officer, greeted the Commissioners and said, "Commissioners, the agreement applies to any otherwise taxable property that would be acquired by the company with the proceeds of the industrial revenue bonds that are to be issued by the City of Maize. So once that property ceases to be tax exempt under the actions of the City of Maize, and comes back on the tax roll, then this agreement would cease to have any validity."

Commissioner Peterjohn said, "I just wanted clarification because the City of Maize is in the fire district. Thank you."

Chairman Ranzau said, "Madam Clerk, call the vote."

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh Aye
Commissioner Norton Aye
Commissioner Howell Aye
Commissioner Peterjohn Aye
Chairman Ranzau Aye

Chairman Ranzau said, "Any other business to come before the Fire District No. 1? Seeing none this meeting is adjourned.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no other business to come before the Board, the Meeting was adjourned at 11:28 a.m.

Sedgwick County Page 2

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS
RICHARD RANZAU, Chairman Fourth District
KARL PETERJOHN, Chair Pro Tem Third District
DAVID M. UNRUH, Commissioner First District
TIM R. NORTON, Commissioner Second District
JAMES M. HOWELL, Commissioner Fifth District
ATTEST:
Kelly B. Arnold, County Clerk
APPROVED:

Sedgwick County Page 3