RESOLUTION NO. ____-2017

A RESOLUTION PROVIDING FUNDING TO THE GREATER WICHITA PARTNERSHIP IN THE AMOUNT OF \$300,000.00 TO SUPPORT ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

WHEREAS, the Sedgwick County Board of County Commissioners recognizes that economic development is essential for the economic stability of Sedgwick County; and

WHEREAS, the Greater Wichita Partnership (GWP) has made an application for funding in the amount of \$300,000.00 for 2017 for the purpose of promoting economic development; and

WHEREAS, Sedgwick County has previously supported GWP in its efforts to align and focus the economic development organizations in the region and finds their efforts have resulted in successful economic development; and

WHEREAS, the Sedgwick County Board of County Commissioners, under its home rule authority granted by K.S.A. 19-101 *et seq.*, and amendments thereto, is authorized to support economic development in Sedgwick County.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS, THAT:

- 1. The Sedgwick County Board of County Commissioners grants \$300,000.00 to GWP, payable from its General Fund economic development program for County budget year 2017 for the purpose of promoting, stimulating and developing general economic welfare and prosperity in Sedgwick County.
- 2. The Sedgwick County Board of County Commissioners finds that such an expenditure of funds is for a public purpose.
- 3. The Chairman is authorized to sign all necessary documents and agreements that support this objective, subject to review of the Sedgwick County Counselor's Office.
- 4. This Resolution shall take effect and be in force from and after its approval and adoption by the Board of County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, and upon its publication in the official county newspaper.

ADOPTED AND APPROVED by the Board of County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas on , 2017.

Commissioners present and voting were:	
DAVID M. UNRUH MICHAEL B. O'DONNELL, II DAVID T. DENNIS RICHARD RANZAU JAMES M. HOWELL	
Dated this day of	, 2017.
ATTEST:	BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS
KELLY B. ARNOLD, County Clerk	DAVID M. UNRUH, Chairman Commissioner, First District
	MICHAEL B. O'DONNELL, II, Chair Pro Tem Commissioner, Second District
APPROVED AS TO FORM:	DAVID T. DENNIS Commissioner, Third District
JON VON ACHEN Assistant County Counselor	RICHARD RANZAU Commissioner, Fourth District
	JAMES M. HOWELL Commissioner, Fifth District