RESOLUTION NO. ____-2016

A RESOLUTION TO NAME THE BUILDING LOCATED AT 271 WEST THIRD STREET IN WICHITA, SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS THE RONALD REAGAN BUILDING

WHEREAS, Ronald Wilson Reagan was the 40th President of the United States, serving two terms beginning in 1981, and

WHEREAS, President Reagan oversaw the longest recorded period of peacetime prosperity without recession or depression by the end of his term, promoting economic policies that freed Americans from an overburdening tax system, including: creating 20 million new jobs, reducing inflation by almost 10%, slashing the prime interest rate from 21.5% to 10%, and cutting income tax rates to the lowest of any industrialized country in the world, and

WHEREAS, President Reagan promoted "peace through strength" by taking on the Soviet Union and international terrorists, protecting American interests from those who would harm them, and laying the groundwork for the Intermediate Range Nuclear Forces and the Strategic Arms Reduction Treaties, which eliminated an entire class of nuclear weapons and limited the total nuclear arsenals of the United States and the Soviet Union, and

WHEREAS, President Reagan implemented policies, including economic pressure and diplomacy, that accelerated the end to the Cold War. Ultimately, President Reagan, in front of the Berlin Wall, famously challenged then Soviet General Secretary Mikhail Gorbachev to "tear down this wall!," an event that occurred shortly after Reagan left office, and

WHEREAS, President Reagan broke previously-established judicial precedents by appointing Sandra Day O'Connor as the first female Justice of the United States Supreme Court and Clarence Pendleton, Jr. as the first African American chair of the United States Commission on Civil Rights, and

WHEREAS, President Reagan's leadership and core values represent the ideals of United States of America, the State of Kansas and Sedgwick County, and

WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners of Sedgwick County wish to honor the memory of President Ronald Reagan, and

WHEREAS, Sedgwick County owns the property located at 271 West Third Street, Wichita, Sedgwick County, Kansas.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS, THAT:

The building located at 271 West Third Street, Wichita, Sedgwick County, Kansas shall be named "The Ronald Reagan Building" in honor of the 40th President of the United States.

A K

OOPTED AND APPROVED by the Business on Control 2016.	oard of County Commissioners of Sedgwick County
, 2010.	
Commissioners present and voting	g were:
DAVID M. UNRUH	
TIM R. NORTON	
KARL PETERJOHN	
RICHARD RANZAU	
JAMES M. HOWELL	
5 . 141	2015
Dated this day of	, 2016.

	BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS
ATTEST:	
KELLY B. ARNOLD, County Clerk	JAMES M. HOWELL, Chairman Commissioner, Fifth District
	RICHARD RANZAU, Chair Pro Tem Commissioner, Fourth District
APPROVED AS TO FORM:	
	DAVID M. UNRUH Commissioner, First District
JON VON ACHEN Assistant County Counselor	
·	TIM R. NORTON Commissioner, Second District
	KARL PETERJOHN Commissioner, Third District