RESOLUTION NO.

Date Adopted: ___/__/

Date Published/Effective: / /

A RESOLUTION MODIFYING CHAPTER 16 OF THE SEDGWICK COUNTY CODE PERTAINING TO THE JUVENILE CORRECTIONS ADVISORY BOARD BY ADDING AN APPOINTED POSITION.

WHEREAS, K.S.A. 75-7044 provides for the establishment of a juvenile corrections advisory board; and

WHEREAS, K.S.A. 75-7044 defines the membership, qualifications, and appointment provisions of the juvenile corrections advisory board for cooperating counties; and

WHEREAS, on April 1, 2016 the Kansas Legislature modified K.S.A. 75-7044 to add the appointed position of a Juvenile Defense Attorney, to be selected by the judge of the District Court who is assigned the Juvenile Court Docket; and

WHEREAS, this modification of K.S.A. 75-7044 takes effect on July 01, 2016.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS, AMENDS THE *SEDGWICK COUNTY CODE* AS FOLLOWS:

SECTION 1. Sedgwick County Code "Section 16-73. Membership, Appointments and qualifications" is hereby amended to read as follows:

- (a) The board shall consist of seventeen (17) voting members who shall be representative of law enforcement, prosecution, the judiciary, education, corrections, ethnic minorities, the social services and the general public.
- (b) The board shall consist of the following positions:
 - (1) The sheriff of the county, or such sheriff's designee;
 - (2) The Chief of Police of the City of Wichita, or such chief's designee;
 - (3) The District Attorney for the Eighteenth Judicial District, or such district attorney's designee;
 - (4) An appointee of the Administrative Judge of the 18th Judicial District, who is a district court judge assigned to the juvenile court docket;
 - (5) An educational professional appointed by the board of county commissioners;
 - (6) A court services officer designated by the Administrative Judge of the 18th Judicial District responsible for the juvenile court docket;

- (7) The executive director of the Comprehensive Community Care of Sedgwick County, or such director's designee;
- (8) One (1) member, a Juvenile Defense Attorney, to be selected by the judge of the District Court who is assigned the Juvenile Court Docket;
- (9) Six (6) members appointed by the board of county commissioners;
- (10) Three (3) members appointed by the Wichita City Council.
- (c) If possible, members appointed by the board of county commissioners and the Wichita City Council shall be representative of one (1) or more of the following:
 - (1) Public or private social service agencies;
 - (2) Ex-offenders;
 - (3) The health care professions; and
 - (4) The general public.
- (d) At least two (2) members of the board shall be representative of ethnic minorities and no more than two-thirds (2/3) of the members of the board shall be members of the same gender.
- (e) Members appointed pursuant to subsections (b)(1) through (8) shall continue to serve for as long as they hold their respective elective office or employment in the designated profession. Vacancies in the board shall be filled for the unexpired term in the manner that the position was originally filled.
- (f) The board of county commissioners may appoint additional ex officio members to the board for such terms as the board of county commissioners shall deem appropriate.

SECTION 2. PUBLICATION.

Upon the adoption of this Resolution, the Clerk of Sedgwick County shall publish this Resolution once in the official County newspaper. This Resolution shall take effect upon said publication.

[Balance of page intentionally left blank]

Commissioners present and voting were:

DAVID M. UNRUH ______ TIM R. NORTON ______ KARL PETERJOHN ______ RICHARD RANZAU ______ JAMES M. HOWELL _____

1428

Dated this ______, 2016.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS

ATTEST:

KELLY B. ARNOLD, County Clerk

JAMES M. HOWELL, Chairman Commissioner, Fifth District

RICHARD RANZAU, Chair Pro Tem Commissioner, Fourth District

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

JON VON ACHEN Assistant County Counselor

DAVID M. UNRUH Commissioner, First District

TIM R. NORTON Commissioner, Second District

KARL PETERJOHN Commissioner, Third District