RESOLUTION NO.			
DATE	/	/ 2016	

A RESOLUTION MODIFYING CHAPTER 14, DIVISION 2, SECTION 76 OF THE SEDGWICK COUNTY CODE AND ALTERING THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE MENTAL HEALTH ADVISORY BOARD BY RESCINDING RESOLUTION NO. 137-2001

WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, has provided for a community mental health center pursuant to K.S.A. 19-4001 et seq.; and

WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, has established, pursuant to K.S.A. 19-4002a and Sedgwick County Resolution No. 199-1986, a mental health advisory board to make certain recommendations regarding mental health services and programs in Sedgwick County; and

WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, desires to eliminate the two at-large positions of the Mental Health Advisory Board, reducing the number of appointees to fifteen (15); and

WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, desires to rescind Resolution No. 137-2001, resulting in a modification to Chapter 14, Division 2, Section 76 of the Sedgwick County Code.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS, that Chapter 14, Section 76 shall, in its entirety, read as follows:

Sec. 14-76. – Membership; appointment and term of members.

Pursuant to K.S.A. 19-4002, the board of county commissioners shall appoint a mental health advisory board, the members of which shall be, as nearly as possible, representative of public welfare, hospitals, mental health, and mental disability organizations, and education, rehabilitation, labor, business and civic groups. Said board shall consist of fifteen (15) members who shall serve at the pleasure of the board of county commissioners and be appointed as follows:

(1) Each county commissioner shall appoint three members to said advisory board. The members appointed shall serve for a period of four (4) years from the date of appointment. In the event that the commissioner recommending the appointment of said member leaves office for any reason, said term shall expire, except that a member so appointed may continue to serve until a successor has been duly appointed.

` '	ointed as herein provided to fill only the unexpired
This resolution shall take effect upon p	passage.
Commissioners present and voting we	re:
DAVID M. UNRUH TIM R. NORTON KARL PETERJOHN RICHARD RANZAU JAMES M. HOWELL	
Dated this day of	, 2016.
ATTEST:	BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS
KELLY B. ARNOLD, County Clerk	JAMES M. HOWELL, Chairman Commissioner, Fifth District
	RICHARD RANZAU, Chair Pro Tem Commissioner, Fourth District
APPROVED AS TO FORM:	DAVID M. UNRUH Commissioner, First District
ERIC R./FOST \ VO `County Counselor	TIM R. NORTON Commissioner, Second District
	KARL PETERJOHN Commissioner Third District