RESOLUTION			
DATE	. 1	/ 2016	

A RESOLUTION APPOINTING COMMISSIONER RICHARD RANZAU TO THE WICHITA AREA METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION (WAMPO) TRANSPORTATION POLICY BODY

WHEREAS, federal law 23 U.S.C. §134 requires a continuous, comprehensive, and cooperative transportation planning process to be undertaken in urbanized areas with populations greater than fifty-thousand persons through a metropolitan planning organization; and

WHEREAS, in the August 6, 2013 WAMPO Re-designation Agreement for Cooperative Transportation Planning between the Secretary of Transportation of the State of Kansas, City of Andale, City of Andover, City of Bel Aire, City of Cheney, City of Colwich, City of Derby, City of Eastborough, City of Goddard, City of Haysville, City of Kechi, City of Maize, City of Mount Hope, City of Mulvane, City of Park City, City of Rose Hill, City of Valley Center, City of Wichita, Butler County, Sedgwick County, and Sumner County, the Wichita Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (WAMPO) was re-designated as the metropolitan planning organization for this area; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to 23 U.S.C. §134 (d)(2)(A), WAMPO's Transportation Policy Body shall serve as the forum for cooperative decision-making and shall include four (4) Sedgwick County elected officials as appointed by the Board of County Commissioners, which appointees will serve at the pleasure of the Board of County Commissioners; and

WHEREAS, it is the desire of the Board of County Commissioners to appoint Richard Ranzau, Commissioner, Fourth District, to replace David M. Unruh, Commissioner, First District, as a member to the WAMPO Transportation Policy Body; and

WHEREAS, it is the desire of the majority of the Board of County Commissioners to consent to said appointment per resolution.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS, that Commissioner Richard Ranzau is hereby appointed to the WAMPO Transportation Policy Body effective February 3, 2016, to serve at the pleasure of the Board of County Commissioners, so long as he remains an elected official of the Board of County Commissioners.

[Balance of page intentionally left blank]

Commissioners present and voting we	ere:
DAVID M. UNRUH TIM R. NORTON KARL PETERJOHN RICHARD RANZAU JAMES M. HOWELL	
Dated this day of	, 2016.
ATTEST:	BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS
KELLY B. ARNOLD, County Clerk	JAMES M. HOWELL, Chairman Commissioner, Fifth District
	RICHARD RANZAU, Chair Pro Tem Commissioner, Fourth District
APPROVED AS TO FORM. ERIC R. YOST, ESQ	DAVID M. UNRUH Commissioner, First District
County Counselor	TIM R. NORTON Commissioner, Second District
	KARL PETERJOHN Commissioner Third District