RESOLUTION NO.

DATE ____ / ___ / 2016

A RESOLUTION APPOINTING COMMISSIONER KARL PETERJOHN TO THE LAKE AFTON PUBLIC OBSERVATORY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas entered into an interlocal agreement with the Board of City Commissioners of the City of Wichita, Kansas, Wichita State University, and the Board of Education of U.S.D. 259 for the construction and operation of a public observatory at Lake Afton on March 4, 1979; and

WHEREAS, the by-laws of the Lake Afton Public Observatory were adopted on December 20, 1979; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to the Lake Afton Public Observatory by-laws, the Board of County Commissioners is entitled to one appointment to the Lake Afton Public Observatory Board of Trustees; and

WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners of Sedgwick County desires to appoint Karl Peterjohn, Commissioner, Third District, to serve as the County Commission appointment to the Lake Afton Public Observatory Board of Trustees, so long as he remains an elected official of the Board of County Commissioners, or at the pleasure of the Board of County Commissioners; and

WHEREAS, it is the desire of the majority of the Board of County Commissioners to consent to said appointment per resolution.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS, that Commissioner James M. Howell is hereby appointed to the Sedgwick County Lake Afton Public Observatory Board of Trustees effective February 3, 2016. Commissioner Peterjohn shall serve so long as he remains an elected official of the Board of County Commissioners, or at the pleasure of the Board of County Commissioners.

[Balance of page intentionally left blank]

Commissioners present and voting were:

DAVID M. UNRUH	
TIM R. NORTON	
KARL PETERJOHN	
RICHARD RANZAU	
JAMES M. HOWELL	

Dated this _____ day of _____, 2016.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS

ATTEST:

KELLY B. ARNOLD, County Clerk

JAMES M. HOWELL, Chairman Commissioner, Fifth District

RICHARD RANZAU, Chair Pro Tem Commissioner, Fourth District

APPROVED AS TO, FORM ERIC R. County Cg

DAVID M. UNRUH Commissioner, First District

TIM R. NORTON Commissioner, Second District

KARL PETERJOHN Commissioner, Third District