RESOLUTION NO.			
DATE	1	/ 2016	

## A RESOLUTION APPOINTING COMMISSIONER JAMES M. HOWELL TO THE SEDGWICK COUNTY ZOOLOGICAL SOCIETY, INC., BOARD OF DIRECTORS

WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas and the Sedgwick County Zoological Society, Inc., entered into an agreement on August 18, 1967 for the establishment, operation, maintenance, and development of the Sedgwick County Zoological Park; and

WHEREAS, the by-laws of the Sedgwick County Zoological Society, Inc., were adopted on May 27, 2014; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to the Sedgwick County Zoological Society, Inc., by-laws, the Board of County Commissioners is entitled to one appointment to the Sedgwick County Zoological Society, Inc., Board of Directors; and

WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners' appointee is to be either the Chair of that elected body or the Chairperson's designee; and

WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners of Sedgwick County desires to appoint Chairman James M. Howell, Commissioner, Fifth District, to serve as the County Commission appointment to the Sedgwick County Zoological Society, Inc., Board of Directors, replacing Karl Peterjohn, Commissioner Third District, who was former Commissioner Ranzau's designee; and

WHEREAS, it is the desire of the majority of the Board of County Commissioners to consent to said appointment per resolution.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS, that Commissioner James M. Howell is hereby appointed to the Sedgwick County Zoological Society, Inc., Board of Directors, effective February 3, 2016. Commissioner Howell shall serve until his successor is appointed by resolution of the Board of County Commissioners, while he is Chairman of the Board of County Commissioners.

[Balance of page intentionally left blank]

Commissioners present and voting w	ere:
DAVID M. UNRUH TIM R. NORTON KARL PETERJOHN RICHARD RANZAU JAMES M. HOWELL	
Dated this day of	, 2016.
ATTEST:	BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS
KELLY B. ARNOLD, County Clerk	JAMES M. HOWELL, Chairman Commissioner, Fifth District
	RICHARD RANZAU, Chair Pro Tem Commissioner, Fourth District
APPROVED AS TO FORM:	DAVID M. UNRUH Commissioner, First District
ERIC R. YOST, ESQ. County Counselor	TIM R. NORTON Commissioner, Second District
	KARL PETERJOHN Commissioner Third District