A RESOLUTION RESCINDING SEDGWICK COUNTY RESOLUTION NO. 102-2012 AND AUTHORIZING AN ADMINISTRATIVE PROCESS FOR ESTABLISHING THE YEARLY RATE CHARGED BY SEDGWICK COUNTY TO CITIES FOR THE HOUSING OF CITY PRISONERS IN THE SEDGWICK COUNTY ADULT DETENTION FACILITY

WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, adopted Sedgwick County Resolution No. 102-2012, on the 13th day of June, 2012, establishing the current rate charged to cities in Sedgwick County for the housing of city prisoners effective January 1, 2013; and

WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners now desires to rescind Sedgwick County Resolution #102-2012 effective January 1, 2016, in order to change the rate cities are being charged for city prisoners beginning January 1, 2016.

WHEREAS, Sedgwick County Resolution #110-2007 established an administrative procedure to adjust the rate to be charged on a yearly basis based upon the direct costs for the maintenance of city prisoners based upon an independent assessment and audit as authorized and defined by the United States Office of Management and Budget (OMB) in OMB Circular A-87 and as amended; and

WHEREAS, Sedgwick County is authorized by K.S.A. 19-1930(a) to charge cities for the maintenance of city prisoners in an amount equal to the cost of maintaining county prisoners; and

WHEREAS, the cities in Sedgwick County have been notified in writing of the rate adjustment set to begin January 1, 2016, based upon the recently completed independent assessment and audit.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS, that the following be adopted:

- 1. Effective January 1, 2016, Sedgwick County Resolution No. 102-2012 is hereby rescinded.
- 2. That furthermore, the rate charged to cities in Sedgwick County for the maintenance of city prisoners shall be established on a yearly basis in accordance with the independent assessment and audit as set out in Sedgwick County Resolution No. 110-07, and that said rate shall be adjusted on a yearly basis pursuant to the independent assessment and audit.

Commissioners present and voting we	re:
DAVID M. UNRUH TIM R. NORTON KARL PETERJOHN RICHARD RANZAU JAMES M. HOWELL	
Dated this day of	, 2015.
	BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS
ATTEST:	
KELLY B. ARNOLD, County Clerk	RICHARD RANZAU, Chairman Commissioner, Fourth District
APPROVED AS TO FORM:	KARL PETERJOHN, Chair Pro Tem Commissioner, Third District
MICHAEL D. PEPOON Acting County Counselor	DAVID M. UNRUH Commissioner, First District
	TIM R. NORTON Commissioner, Second District
	JAMES M. HOWELL Commissioner, Fifth District