RESOLUTION NO.	

A RESOLUTION REGARDING THE ALTERATION AND MODIFICATION OF BOUNDARIES OF SEDGWICK COUNTY FIRE DISTRICT NUMBER ONE, SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS

WHEREAS, under the provisions of K.S.A. 19-3604(b), the territory of any organized fire district may be subsequently altered by the inclusion of lands upon petition to the Board of County Commissioners signed by the owners of at least ten percent (10%) of the area of lands sought to be included; and

WHEREAS, James D. & Tiffany D. Dornbusch, Todd and Janet K. Leiker, David A. & Christi L. Rife as well as Douglas M. Weninger, all owners of property located in Union Township, have presented their petitions to the Board of County Commissioners seeking to be included within the boundaries of the Sedgwick County Fire District Number One; and

WHEREAS, proper notice has been given pursuant to K.S.A. 19-270(b).

NOW, Therefore be it resolved by the Board of County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, that:

SECTION I. The owners, listed in Exhibit "A", have filed their petitions with the Board of County Commissioners pursuant to K.S.A. 19-3604(b) seeking the inclusion of certain tracts of land within the boundaries of Sedgwick County Fire District Number One. Said tracts of land are generally located in Union Township and are more specifically described in Exhibit "A," entitled Property Address and Legal Description, attached hereto and incorporated herein. Said property is further noted on the maps identified as Exhibit "B" attached hereto and incorporated herein.

SECTION II. After a consideration of the following matters:

- (1) The size and population of the city of Colwich, the city of Maize and the City of Wichita;
- (2) The growth in population, business and industry of said cities;
- (3) The extension of said city's boundaries during the past 10 years;
- (4) The probability of the growth of the city toward the territory during the ensuing 10 years, taking into consideration natural barriers and other reasons which might influence growth toward the territory;
- (5) The willingness of the city to annex the respective territory and the city's ability to provide city services in case of annexation; and
- (6) The general effect upon the entire affected community, all of these and other considerations having to do with the overall orderly and economic development of the area and to prevent an unreasonable multiplicity of independent municipal and special district governments;

the Board of County Commissioners finds and determines that the real property described herein shall be and the same is hereby included within the boundaries of the Sedgwick County Fire District Number One.

SECTION III. In compliance with K.S.A. 19-3604(b), this Resolution shall be published once each week for two (2) consecutive weeks in a newspaper of general circulation in an area where said lands are located. Such publication shall include a map, attached hereto and incorporated herein as Exhibit "B," showing the territory of the district and the lands proposed to be attached thereto. If within thirty (30) days after the last publication of said Resolution and map, a petition protesting the inclusion of such land, signed by the owners (whether residents of the County or not) of more than nineteen percent (19%) of the area of lands sought to be included within said fire district is filed with the County Clerk, this Resolution shall have no force or effect, but if such protest petition(s) shall not be filed within said time, this Resolution shall become final and said lands shall thereupon be deemed finally attached to said fire district.

Commissioners present and voting we	ere:
DAVID M. UNRUH TIM R. NORTON KARL PETERJOHN RICHARD RANZAU JAMES M. HOWELL	
Dated this day of	, 2015.
ATTEST:	BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS
KELLY B. ARNOLD, County Clerk	RICHARD RANZAU, Chairman Commissioner, Fourth District
	KARL PETERJOHN, Chair Pro Tem Commissioner, Third District
APPROVED AS TO FORM: MICHAEL D. PEPOON	DAVID M. UNRUH Commissioner, First District
Acting County Counselor	TIM R. NORTON Commissioner, Second District
	JAMES M. HOWELL Commissioner, Fifth District